Cycle Routes in Westminster

The Central London Grid

In December 2013, Westminster published draft proposals for its portion of the Central London Grid of cycle routes.

The Grid is intended to be a network of direct, high-capacity, joined-up cycle routes across central London. Many of these will run in parallel with key Underground, rail and bus routes, and will be signed and branded accordingly. Two types of routes will form part of this Cycle Grid: 'Cycle Superhighways' and 'Quietways'. The aim will be for cyclists to feel safer and more confident that they can navigate its streets with ease.

Map of the proposed routes »

List of Proposed Routes

Cycle Superhighways
East-West Cycle Superhighway
Westway - Link from Westbourne Terrace Road - Westbourne Terrace - Victoria Gate - Hyde Park Corner - Buckingham Palace - Parliament Square - Victoria Embankment - City
Vauxhall Bridge - Belgrave Square
Portland Place - Outer Circle - Avenue Road - Swiss Cottage
Victoria Line
Vauxhall Bridge - Vincent Square - Buckingham Palace - Green Park - Berkeley Square - Great Marlborough Street - Cleveland Street - Camden
Jubilee Line
Westminster Bridge - Horse Guards - St James's - New Bond Street - Wimpole Street - Devonshire Street - Park Square - Swiss Cottage
Jubilee Line alternative
>Westminster Bridge - Horse Guards - St James's - Hanover Square - Cavendish Square - Harley Street - Regent's Park - Ordnance Hill - Swiss Cottage
Circle Line (south)
Lower Sloane Street - Ebury Street - Petty France - Storey's Gate
Circle Line (north)
Notting Hill Gate - Porchester Gardens - Craven Hill - Paddington - Sussex Gardens - Norfolk Crescent - Crawford Street - Devonshire Street - Camden
Circle Line (north) alternative
Notting Hill Gate - Porchester Gardens - Craven Hill - Paddington - Star Street - Old Marylebone Road - Crawford Street - Devonshire Street - Camden
Central Line
Park Lane - Grosvenor Square - Brook Street - Great Marlborough Street - Camden
Quietway 7
Talbot Road - Gloucester Terrace - Westbourne Terrace and Talbot Road - Hereford Road - Porchester Gardens - Craven Hill - Sussex Gardens - Norfolk Crescent - George Street - Manchester Square - Queen Anne Street - Langham Street - Howland Street
Quietway 7 alternative
As Q7 to Norfolk Square - Connaught Street - Upper Berkeley Street - Manchester Square - Welbeck Street - New Cavendish Street - Howland Street
Grand Union
Grand Union Canal - Delamere Terrace - Blomfield Road - Frampton Street - Regent's Canal
Grand Union Alternative
Ilbert Street - Shirland Road - Sutherland Avenue - Circus Road - St John's Wood Terrace - St Edmund's Terrace
Quietway 16
Marble Arch - Connaught Square - Norfolk Crescent - Old Marylebone Road - Cosway Street - Penfold Street - Hamilton Terrace - Camden
Quietway 19
Lowndes Street - Albert Gate - Hyde Park - Curzon Street - Berkeley Square - Bruton Lane - Old Bond Street - Burlington Gardens - Brewer Street - Old Compton Street - Cambridge Circus - Shaftesbury Avenue or Shelton Street
Quietway 68
Waterloo Bridge - Wellington Street - Bow Street - Endell Street
Quietway 88 (previously known as Bakerloo Line)
Vauxhall Bridge - Regency Street (or John Islip Street - Marsham Street) - Link from Lambeth Bridge - Great Smith Street - Horse Guards - Trafalgar Square - Wardour Street - Cleveland Street - Regent's Park
Jermyn Street
Jermyn Street - Panton Street - Orange Street - Tavistock Street - Drury Lane
Wiggins Way
Carlton Vale - Carlton Hill - Boundary Road - St John's Wood Park
No Name
Marble Arch - Bryanston Square - Enford Street - Harewood Avenue - Regent's Canal

Many of these routes follow the course of routes that formed part of the London Cycle Network - see below. About half are scheduled for completion by 2016.

The London Cycle Network

Before Boris Johnson became Mayor of London, the London Cycle Network was the main project for developing cycle routes in London.

The cycle crossing of Edgware Road at Aberdeen Place
Aberdeen Place on the London Cycle Network

Within Westminster, the London Cycle Network generally goes through the quieter streets and the Royal Parks, enabling you to avoid the busiest streets and junctions. Routes are usually indicated by signposts or markings on the road surface and are coloured blue on TfL's cycling maps.

Which routes run through Westminster?

(Thames Cycle Route): Chelsea Bridge – Pimlico – Tate Gallery – Lambeth Bridge (part of the National Cycle Network)
(Ambassador Route): Chelsea Bridge – Belgravia – Hyde Park - Marylebone – Lisson Grove – Kilburn
Waterloo – Covent Garden – Bloomsbury
Bayswater – Paddington – Marylebone – Fitzrovia
Hyde Park – Mayfair – Soho – Covent Garden / Fitzrovia
Lambeth Bridge – Westminster Abbey – St James’s Park – Mayfair – Marylebone – Regent’s Park – Swiss Cottage
Queen’s Park – Shirland Road – Little Venice – Maida Vale - Marylebone
Bayswater – Westbourne Park – Maida Hill – St John’s Wood

Cycle Superhighways

Cycle Superhighways are new cycle routes into central London from outer London. They are intended to provide cyclists with safer, faster and more direct journeys into the city.

The first four have now launched. The remaining eight were due for completion by 2015, but TfL now says simply that a number of new routes will be opened by 2016.

Westminster's first Cycle Superhighway on Millbank
Cycle Superhighways in Westminster
CS5 Lewisham Belgrave Square A20-A202 By 2016?
(originally 2013)
CS8 Wandsworth Westminster A3205-A3212 Opened 2011
CS9 Hounslow Hyde Park A315 Abandoned
CS10 Park Royal Hyde Park A40? Superseded by East-West Cycle Superhighway.
CS11 West Hampstead Marylebone A41 After 2016.
East-West Cycle Superhighway Paddington Tower Hill Hyde Park, Victoria Embankment 2016

Find out more about Cycle Superhighways

The National Cycle Network

Spanning the UK, the National Cycle Network's 12,600 miles of walking and cycling routes include:

The Network is coordinated by the charity Sustrans and involves hundreds of organisations. These include local authorities, businesses, landowners and environmental bodies.

Route 4, the Thames Cycle Route, runs through Westminster.